Bruckner Journal logo



UK Concert Listings


See also:





UK Concerts

November 2015 - February 2016


12 Nov 7.45pm, London, St James’s Church, Spanish Place

Brahms and Bruckner motets, including:                  +44 (0)20 7638 8891

Brahms - 3 Motets, op.110; How Lovely Are Thy Dwellings Fair; Geistliches Lied,   

Bruckner - Locus iste, Christus factus est



22 Nov 7.45pm, Edinburgh, St Cuthbert’s Church +44 (0)131 228 1155

Strauss - Horn Concerto (Hugh Seeman)  Bruckner - Symphony No. 8

Scottish Sinfonia / Neil Mantle


6 Dec 7.30pm, London Barbican Hall +44 (0)20 7638 8891

Chopin - Piano Concerto No.1 (Maria João Pires)

Bruckner - Symphony No.4 (1878/80)

London Symphony Orchestra / Daniel Harding


6 Dec 7.30pm, London Royal Festival Hall  0844 875 0073

Zimmermann - Trumpet Concerto, "Nobody knows the trouble I see"    (Hakan Hardenberger)                          

Bruckner - Symphony No.8                                 

Philharmonia Orchestra / Andris Nelsons


16 Dec 7.30pm, London Barbican Hall +44 (0)20 7638 8891

Beethoven - Piano Concerto No. 3 (Maria João Pires)

Bruckner - Symphony No. 9 (SPCM finale)

London Symphony Orchestra / Daniel Harding


27 Jan 7.30pm, London Royal Festival Hall  0844 875 0073

Schnittke - Pianissimo

Shostakovich - Cello Concerto No.2 (Natalia Gutman)

Bruckner - Symphony No.3

London Philharmonic Orchestra / Vladimir Jurowski


10 Feb 12.45pm, open rehearsal;

11 Feb 7.30pm, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall +44 (0)151 709 3789

Mozart - Violin Concerto No.5 (Esther Yoo)

Bruckner - Symphony No.9

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic / Sir Andrew Davis


Future UK concerts....

27 January 2016  London Philharmonic 

 Vladimir Jurowski  Bruckner 3 - RFH


14 April 2016  London Symphony Orchestra 

 Sir Simon Rattle  Bruckner 8 - Barbican


22 April 2016 - Orchestra Age of Enlightenment

Sir Simon Rattle  Bruckner 6 - RFH


24 April 2016 - Philharmonia

Herbert Blomstedt - Bruckner 4


8 May 2016 - London Symphony Orchestra

Danial Harding -  Bruckner 3



wpac870445.png The New Bruckner  

Compositional Development and the Dynamics of Revision

Dermot Gault


January 2011

234 x 156 mm, 278 pages Hardback, Includes c.39 musical examples and 3 tables

978-1-4094-0091-2   £60.00  (£54 - On-line price at


The New Bruckner


The New Bruckner provides a valuable study of Bruckner's music, focusing on the interaction of biography, textual scholarship, reception history and analysis. Dr Dermot Gault conveys a broad chronological narrative of Bruckner's compositional development, interpolating analytical commentaries on the works and critical accounts of the notoriously complex and editorial issues. Gault corrects longstanding misconceptions about the composer's revision process, and its relationship with the early editions and widely held critical opinions. Bruckner's constantly evolving engagement with symphonic form is traced by taking each revision in due order, rather than by taking each symphony on its own, and by relating the symphonies to other mature works such as the Te Deum, the three great Masses, and the Quintet, and Gault argues that Bruckner's music became more organic and less schematic as the result of his revisions. The book will be essential reading for all interested in Bruckner's compositions, the complex history of their reception, and late Romantic music in general.

Contents: Preface     -    Introduction; tradition and innovation   -    Masses and early symphonies

The emergence of the 'Bruckner symphony'     -    Consolidation and revision   -    4 masterpieces

Bruckner and his disciples   -    The 8th symphony   -   The final decade   -   Anomalies of history

Appendix Select bibliography -   Index


Dermot Gault was born in Belfast and studied music at Queen's University Belfast, where he obtained a doctorate for a thesis on Bruckner's symphonies in 1994. He has contributed to The Bruckner Journal since its inception and addressed Bruckner Conferences in Nottingham and Oxford. He has also contributed to Music Ireland and The Irish Times.